Lawless and the Flowers of Sin by William SuttonBefore Holmes, there was Lawless… Before Lawless, the London streets weren’t safe to walk…

A Foundation for Fallen Women. A chess automaton. An impossible theft.

Reluctant inspector of vice, Lawless must take a fruitless reckoning of London’s shadowy nether world. Hyposcrisy, double standards: just what we expect from stuffy Victorian society.

But Lawless was not expecting the trail that his questions open up: from the erotic booksellers of Holywell Street down the darkening passageways of Haymarket bordellos to backstreet cast-offs of the high life.

When reputations are at threat, those running the show can be merciless in defending them.

A Campbell Lawless Victorian mystery sure to appeal to fans of David Liss and George MacDonald Fraser.

Book Info:
The Second Book in the Campbell Lawless Victorian Mysteries Series

UK Print
Date: 7th August 2014
ISBN: 9781909223271
Format: Medium (B-Format) Paperback
R.R.P.: £8.99

US/CAN Print
Date: 29th July 2014
ISBN: 9781909223288
Format: Large (Trade) Paperback
R.R.P.: US$14.99 CAN$16.99

Ebook
Date: 29th July 2014
ISBN: 9781909223295
Format: Epub & Mobi
R.R.P.: £5.49 / US$6.99

Other Books in This Series:

1. Lawless and The Devil of Euston Square

Buying Info:

Amazon.co.uk | Book Depository | Waterstones | WHSmith

North American Print & Ebook
Amazon.com | Amazon.ca | BarnesandNoble.com | IndieBound.org

Global DRM-Free Epub Ebook
On-sale 29th July 2014 from the Robot Trading Company

back to top

Author Info:

William Sutton: WWW | Twitter

Discuss and Share:

Discuss and Review Lawless and the Flowers of Sin at Goodreads.com

Read an Extract:

Sample Chapters to follow…

Praise and Reviews for Lawless and The Devil of Euston Square:

“William Sutton’s first novel is fine, extravagant and thoroughly enjoyable… The action moves with dizzying speed from the highest quarters in the land to the vilest slums and low dives of the teeming city. …Thoroughly enjoyable. We are told that William Sutton is now at work on another Campbell Lawless mystery. If he can maintain this standard of invention, this mastery of linguistic tone, he is on to a winner.”
- Allan Massie, The Scotsman

“First-rate Victorian crime fiction.”
The Herald

“A thoroughly enjoyable tale of terrorist agents at work in Victorian London.”
Scottish Review of Books

back to top